PLP – An Exciting Year Ahead!

header_left_menuI am a third grade teacher at an independent school in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia.  I’m excited to be a part of a dynamic faculty, and a fantastic Pre-K to 12th grade college preparatory school that is embracing change and helping us to stay on the cutting edge of our field.

At our in-service this year, our Associate Head/Dean of Faculty gave a presentation on Digital Learning.  It was a fast-paced, exciting preview of what she had learned at a PLP (Powerful Learning Practice) boot camp.  (http://plpnetwork.com/)  Her enthusiasm and the information presented got my mind racing.  There were so many possibilities!  At the end of the presentation, we found that there was grant money for 6 of our faculty to be part of a Digital Learning Team that would spend the year doing professional development with PLP.  I knew immediately that I wanted to be part of the team.  Before the day was out, I had emailed my request!

I’m jumping in with both feet, spending this holiday weekend working my way through the PLP Pregame Activities in anticipation of our kickoff in Dallas on the 13th of this month.  One of my assignments is this blog, where I’ll track my experience.  I’m already creating my PLN (Personal Learning Network) with things like Web 2.0 (http://web2010.discoveryeducation.com/web20tools.cfm), google documents, online bookmarks, Ning, wikis, RSS feeds, blogs, Twitter, and more!

Our Dallas kickoff is sure to get me even more fired up!  Our team is strong, and I look forward to working with these colleagues through the year on a project we will present in May.  I anticipate that my way of teaching will undergo some pretty major transformations this year, and I’m excited about what that means for my students — stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *